One of My Little Quirks: Spacing Out

Photo by tubb via Flickr. Used under Creative Commons.
Photo by tubb via Flickr. Used under Creative Commons.

My kindergarten report card contains the comment that I had the tendency to tune out my surroundings. It’s meant as a criticism, but I like that I have that ability. I just wish it always worked, even when I’m overstimulated.

I am aware that other people find it odd. Like when I’m sitting in a waiting room, while other people are reading magazines or looking at their phones, I’m often just staring into space, thinking my own thoughts. I have learned to feign scrolling through my phone though just so I don’t creep people out by appearing mentally absent from my body. Like the lights are on, but no one’s home.

One of the things that tires me out when I’m in the workforce is the inability to just think my own thoughts. Work requires me to be mentally present all the time, and I can’t keep that up long term without eventually having an emotional crash. I need to retreat into my head. It might not appear so, but those retreats are what keep me sane.

3 thoughts on “One of My Little Quirks: Spacing Out

Leave a Reply

