A Magnet for the Hurting?

Photo by Marg via Flickr. Used under Creative Commons.
Photo by Marg via Flickr. Used under Creative Commons.

My mom says one of my gifts is my ability to attract and be a comfort to hurting people. She says when I was a child, sad or traumatized children would be drawn by my quiet, calm demeanor and would confide things in me. She has pointed out that this pattern has continued throughout my life. It’s true that complete strangers will tell me their life story. I don’t know why. I don’t think I do anything to encourage it.

I do have great empathy for hurting people, but I don’t always know what to do about it. I’m not sure of the right things to say or the correct way to act. But it doesn’t seem to matter in these cases.

It’s the people who have it all together who tend not to like me. They see me as weak or too sensitive or a loser. They think I need to grow a thicker skin, go out of my comfort zone, make more of an effort to be like everyone else. Those are the ones who call me unfriendly or unsociable. But other people who are perhaps a little different, who have struggled in life, or who are currently hurting, seem to find me extremely approachable. Those are the people I’m here for, I guess. Or at least that’s what my mom thinks. I’m still processing the idea.

3 thoughts on “A Magnet for the Hurting?

  1. That is exactly my experience!!! My parents used to answer the phone “K’s Counselling services” as a joke…but YES!!! And then there are others who really don’t like me and find me insulting…this is it exactly!:)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your comment! It’s interesting that I’m not the only one who’s like this. It’s such an odd contradiction though, isn’t it? And it’s an indication that we must not really be all the things the disapproving people say we are, because if we were, we wouldn’t be so good at this.

      Like

  2. Me too… my mom used to say I could see straight into people’s hearts. Yet I was also always bullied, excluded, and taken advantage of by other people. It is kind of an odd existence, to feel so much FOR other people, and to be hurt so badly BY other people.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

