I Just Want a Freakin’ Sandwich!

Photo by Tony Alter via Flickr. Used under Creative Commons.
Photo by Tony Alter via Flickr. Used under Creative Commons.

Today I had to return something to the library, and while out, started to feel hypoglycemic and needed something to eat in a hurry, so I decided to get a sandwich from the nearby Subway.

When I approached the counter, the guy behind it said with a big, mischievous grin, “I’m sorry, we’re closed today.”

I replied, “You don’t look closed.”

“We’re closed,” he said.

I just stood there for a few seconds, not sure what to say next. He then said something to me, and I didn’t understand what it was, but I could tell it wasn’t “May I take your order?” or “What can I get for you?” So I asked him to repeat himself. He did, but I still didn’t understand him.

I froze for a few seconds trying to make sense of his words but I couldn’t. Then I panicked and turned around and left without another word. I’m sure he thinks I’m insane.

This same guy made things awkward for me the last time I was there too, but that time it was with aggressive upselling attempts. It started with, “Would you like to add bacon?”

“No thank you, ” I replied.

“Why, don’t you like bacon?” he asked, smiling playfully.

“Ummm… Yeah, I guess, but not all the time.”

“Do you want extra cheese?

“No thank you.”

“Why, don’t you like cheese?”

“I do, but in normal amounts. I don’t need extra.”

“Do you want to make this a combo with a drink and some cookies?”

“No thank you.”

“But you’ll need something to wash your sub down with, won’t you?”

“I’m taking it home. I have drinks at home.”

“But I bet you don’t have cookies at home.”

“I don’t want cookies.”

“Why, don’t you like cookies?”

So anyway, I now feel like I can never go to that Subway again, which is really frustrating, because that’s the only one in my neighbourhood, I don’t have a car, and I normally really like it. I like it because I can get a sandwich made with exactly what I want on it (and therefore not risk aggravating any of my food sensitivities), and even though there’s a lot of talking to get it, it usually follows a predictable routine, so even if I can’t always understand their words (due to my auditory processing issues and their thick accents), I know what they’re likely asking at each point in the process and can make a safe guess about how to answer. But this particular guy keeps jacking me around and turning it into an ordeal and now I don’t ever want to go back there. And the way I am with things like this, I will be thinking about this for hours or even days to come.

Just to clarify, I’m not saying this guy is a terrible person; I realize he’s just joking around. But I don’t know how to deal with it, and it adds a layer of complexity to something that used to be very simple.

It really shouldn’t be so hard to order a freakin’ sandwich.

6 thoughts on “I Just Want a Freakin’ Sandwich!

  1. I really don’t like it when people do that to me. I get that is their personality, and many people enjoy the humour, but it throws me off, and causes me a lot of stress. I would have walked away, and been upset by this interaction as well. In fact, that was a lot of my struggle with my last job as a motel front desk agent. It was hard to have difficult guests, true – but that would have been true for most people. When people tried to joke around with me, though, and go off of my rehearsed script, I couldn’t function. That was the hardest part.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. But when people don’t get a positive response to that kind of behaviour then they should have sense to back off and use another approach.
    I must admit I’ve stopped using subway since I found out they used a chemical in their bread found in yoga mats. 😦

    Like

    1. Unfortunately, some people enjoy getting other people rattled. That just adds to their fun.
      As for the chemical they use, I read that too, but I later read that they had vowed to eliminate it. I could be wrong, but I think they’ve done so now, since the bread no longer tastes as good as it used to. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. As you say though, you don’t expect to go into such places expecting anything other than a service provided. When they end up just aggravating or upsetting you then that’s the time to move on but how avoidable 😦 Boooo.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

