Choices

choices

I take a long time to make decisions. Choices overwhelm me. In stores, I’m often convinced that clerks think I’m up to no good because I will stare at shelves of stuff for inordinate amounts of time, picking things up, putting them back down, walking away and then back again. It is difficult for me to go shopping with other people, because I worry they’ll get annoyed with me because of how long I take to look at and choose things.

The last few days I’ve been phone shopping (mostly online). My cell phone contract is about to expire and I would like to upgrade my phone, but I have been overwhelmed by the options. I have spent days researching and reading reviews, and for two nights in a row, I’ve even had disturbed, nightmarish dreams about having to choose a phone and ending up choosing badly. It feels like that big a deal to me.

Now, I have finally decided. I know which one I will buy. But now I have a new struggle. Once I have made a decision, I want to act on it immediately. I am ready to get that phone! But when my husband’s phone contract was up a few months ago, he didn’t act immediately, and after two months they sent him a $50 off offer. Perhaps they will do the same for me if I wait. But I feel like I can’t wait. I have made the decision, and I feel like I want to crawl out of my own skin if I can’t do something about it now.

One thought on “Choices

  1. I have trouble choosing, too. I go from store to store, comparing prices, then return home to read reviews. It will often take me months to finally make a decision, and I also feel that people working in the stores think I might be shoplifting, or something. And if they ask if they can help me, I want to run away (and often do.) Now I try to do most of that research online, so at least I have a good idea of what I want, and the price I am willing to pay, before going through all of that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

