Just Wondering… What Do You Think?

I have still never sought a diagnosis for Asperger’s or Autism. I’m wondering if anyone who follows my blog doubts that this would be a correct diagnosis for me?

I’m afraid to talk to a doctor about this. I think after years of training myself to act “normal” it might be difficult for someone else to understand how difficult life still is for me, despite my outward demeanor. It is difficult for me. I am stressed out to the point of illness when I try to be too “out there” in the world, if you know what I mean. Is it just because of everything I have been through, or is it really the way I’m wired, as I now believe?

Comments solicited and welcome!

4 thoughts on “Just Wondering… What Do You Think?

  1. I am also undecided about this. On the proverbial fence, you could say. I tried to get an official diagnosis in 2008, but was rebuffed by a number of folks, and I never fully recovered. Things are better now, I think, but it’s still chancey. The expense of time and money and emotional stress is just too much for so many of us, so maybe it’s best we stay away… until the field catches up with us. Twitter has been a lifesavers for me. There’s lots of support for folks like us – unofficially diagnosed, and ever so autistic,

    Liked by 2 people

  2. When I got my diagnosis, my psychiatrist said, “If you have read over all of the material, and still believe that you have Aspergers, you likely do.” She later diagnosed me, and it was confirmed by many professionals (all of whom work with people with Autism) after.

    From what I know of you, I believe this is an accurate assessment for you as well. In fact, the more I read your blog, the more convinced I am. Obviously I am not a doctor, and cannot make an official diagnosis, but you asked for opinions. I would say, yes.

    As for getting an official diagnosis, I think the most important question is: how will it help you. For me, it helps explain who I am, why I struggle so much, why I burn out so fast, why I can’t work when I seemed to be good at the work I did… I was able to get disability, and a disability tax credit which should help with my husband’s taxes, and our property taxes. My son was able to get his diagnosis, and disability as well. All of this because of my official diagnosis.

    I believed I had Aspergers/Autism before my diagnosis, but the diagnosis gave me the confidence to share this with others and ask for help in the many ways I was struggling (and working so hard to hide.)

    Although it may be very emotional, I don’t think it would hurt to be assessed – but understand that many doctors still don’t quite understand the disability, and a “no” might not actually mean you don’t have Autism. From my experience, I think those that are covered under health insurance are enough for a confirmation – meaning you don’t need to put out the money to get a private assessment done. You just need to go to your doctor (prepared to explain why you believe this to be true – I brought pages of notes with me) who will refer you to a psychiatrist.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. This is such a hard one. I think the way you could think about is what you’d gain/need from an autism diagnosis and the compare that with the effort it will take. If the need is greater than the effort then maybe it’s something to consider. Or think about the worse possible scenario which could be that they say your not autistic or something like that could you handle that? I know that’s not much help but it’s so independent on you because everyone’s experiences will be different and everyone reacts differently either way. Hope you can find comfort whichever way you decide.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I think you probably do have Autism/Aspberger’s based on what I’ve read about AS and from people who are affected by it, whether they’ve had an official diagnoses or not. Things fall into place for so many of us when we discover this condition exists. I also agree with the other commenters to consider how an official diagnoses would help (or possibly hurt/hinder) you. If it would help with getting state aid like disability or securing employment where they’d make efforts to accommodate your sensory issues, it might be well worth it.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

